Noob Q : Motion Detection, Lorawan & Battery Power

• Hi Folks,

I'm rather new to IoT development and I have a few questions about a new project.

I'm building a squirrel box for the garden as a project with my 8 year old son. He would love a way of sensing if there is actually anything in the box, so I thought a battery powered motion detector would be ideal. Obviously if it is battery powered then Wifi is out of the question, so we have to go with Lorawan to get the data out.

So, my questions are :

1. Can I use the M5Stack Atom DTU LoRaWAN Kit do do this and would it be easy enough for us to figure out how to do it? I have some coding skills, but it is mostly just coping & pasting from the internet!

2. I have seen that there isn't a motion sensor onboard, but I hope that I can add on using the Grove port. Is this just plug & play?

3. Are there any other sensors built into this device which may give us other interesting information which we can report? The more info we can report, the more interesting it will be. I have a VPS running Grafana which I was hoping to utilise for graphing the output if this is possible, with a panel showing if there is something in the box.

4. Can I run this off a battery? Since it is going to be screwed into a box, up a tree, we really need this to run for months or longer on battery power. Would it run from a phone charger USB battery pack and give this kind of usage time?

Any help or pointers on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks!!

• If you're monitoring motion then that PIR has to be powered full time. I think even a large USB battery might only get you a few days. Solar is a possibility, but now you have to include a battery plus charge circuit ( you can buy the charge circuit preassembled).

For an experience person this project is of low/moderate complexity. For you it would be a great learning experience and will likely require quite a bit of work.