UIFlow Desktop on MacOS mojave 10.14.5 cannot connect to Faces Dev Kit

• Howdy, everyone!

M5Stack noob here. I've recently started playing with my M5Stack Faces Dev Kit. The device seems to work correctly. It boots into the micropython repl.

0_1588547609425_IMG_8453.jpg

I've downloaded and installed the latest MacOS driver from silabs (https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers), and then installed the latest uiFlow Desktop IDE.

With the device connected to my Mac via the provided cable, when I open the IDE, it lists the device, but fails to connect.

0_1588548180327_uiflow-ide-list-device.png

0_1588548186519_uiflow-ide-error.png

I'm not sure how to proceed now. Please let me know if there is any other information I need to provide.

• You need to flash the latest uiFlow firmware with the M5Burner utility to use it with uiFlow.

• Thanks, @world101! I was able to burn uiFlow v1.4.5.1 on the device and update it, using the burner app.

Now, I'm able to connect to it from the desktop IDE via USB (when set in USB mode). I had to restart my Mac, though, for things to work.

One problem, however, is that it still doesn't connect to the device in Internet mode, via flow.m5stack.com. After I enter the APIKEY displayed in the device screen, I keep getting the same Upload code failed... error in this mode.

UPDATE 1: Looks like another user, @spoetnic, seems to be reporting a similar issue with the Internet approach (https://forum.m5stack.com/topic/1920/ide-crashes-after-startup-and-webide-cannot-connect-to-device-upload-code-failed-maybe-your-device-is-offline-check-it-and-retry/3), although they're on Windows.

UPDATE 2: So, I updated the firmware to v1.5.1. Still have the same issue. Internet mode refuses to work.

I setup mu-ide and connected to the device in USB mode, got a repl and ran the following commands:

>>> import network

>>> wlan = network.WLAN(network.STA_IF)