IDE crashes after startup and webIDE cannot connect to device (Upload code failed, maybe your device is offline check it and retry)

• Hi Guys, I'm new to M5stack and I'd like to build some code to play a video from the device triggered by an I/O. Nice idea, but so far I'm getting kind of frustrated because the IDE I've downloaded crashes right before it shows the setup screen.!! I've tried to disable anti-virus/firewall, removed node-js (might interfear) but nothing seems to help. What to do? Anyone?
    0_1588339285588_M5crash.png

Secondly I tried to use the webIDE. After entering the APIKEY, it complains the device is disconnected...0_1588339426306_M5disconnected.png

I do see the COM in the PC's device manager, but its connected and there is no problem here. Also I've installed the drivers and upload software.

After clicking the reloading button there is a message on the top right:
    Connecting M5
    Upload code failed, maybe your device is offline check it and retry

How to get working on this lovely device???

• I have exactly the same problem since weeks!
    Since Firmware 1.5.x it is not working.

• Where you able to get it working with other firmware somehow?

• Hi, i m new too on M5Stack... May I ask you if you installed Firmware with M5Burner ? If not you must do it. Chose 1.4 or 1.5 and fill the entry for your WIFI .
    Then just on the right of [Disconnected] you have a refresh button, try it , and again ..

• @spoetnic
    Hi, I have tried it out with all previous versions of firmware.
    And I have to told you, that it does not work with any.
    Also I have tried to upload code to the device from "Microsoft Visual Studio Code", using the same usb driver.
    Result: It works from VS Code like a charm. So it must be a bug in UIFlow. UIFlow had problems with connection since beginning, but with the newest version I cant connect to the device or just for short.

• @serge