M5Stack-SAM - Could not find boards.txt

• Newbie here and kind of struggling to get the M5Stack-SAM to install. I've got past the hello world stage and even got the DHT12 sample to work, except for the known bug where the temperature values are 0.01C after the Arduino is woken up.

Now I want to get the M5Stack-SAM loaded but when I open the Library Manager in the Arduino IDE, I get the error,

"Could not find boards.txt in C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\Arduino\hardware\PartsandCircuits\M5Stack-SAM. Is it pre-1.5?
    WARNING: Error loading hardware folder C:\Users\myaccount\Documents\Arduino\hardware\PartsandCircuits
    No valid hardware definitions found in folder PartsandCircuits."

What I did to get this far was to follow the procedure below;

1. Open GIT GUI
    2. Select Clone Existing Repository
    3. select source and destination
    	a. source: https://github.com/PartsandCircuits/M5Stack-SAM
    	b. destination: C:/Users/myaccount/Documents/Arduino/hardware/PartsandCircuits/M5Stack-SAM
    4. Click 'Clone' 

1. open a Git Bash session CD to C:/Users/myaccount/Documents/Arduino/hardware/PartsandCircuits/M5Stack-SAM and execute 'git submodule update --init --recursive'

So where have I gone wrong here?

• @martinsky

Hi Martin,

There may be a few issues here so I start from the beginning......

OK so first up you need to have completed the standard steps for setting up the M5Stack, located here

You should then have these directories installed:
    (1) C:\Users\your-user-name\Documents\Arduino\hardware\espressif\esp32
    (2) C:\Users\your-user-name\Documents\Arduino\libraries\M5Stack

If downloading using git, then in git go to directory location equivalent to C:\Users\your-user-name\Documents\Arduino - which from within git will be: ~/Documents/Arduino

Then do:

git clone https://github.com/PartsandCircuits/M5Stack-SAM.git

Go to: C:\Users\your-user-name\Documents\Arduino\M5Stack-SAM\M5Stack-SAM and open the M5Stack-SAM.ino file in the Arduino "IDE".